Kibiwot's last entry in 3000m SC in commonwealth saved Kenya

Abraham Kibiwot the winner of the 2022 commonwealth games was not scheduled to race in Birmingham.

Twice world  Athletics champion Conseslus Kipruto, 2021 World U20 champion Amos Serem, and Amos Kirui were scheduled to toe the line.

However, the last-minute changes saw Abraham Kibiwot replacing Amos Kirui. 

Fresh from finishing 5th at World Athletics Championships in Oregon, Kibiwot's experience was highly needed in the mix.

He didn't disappoint, Kibiwot controlled the race from gun to the tape, amid enormous opposition from Avinash Sable of India.

Kibiwot 3000m SC in commonwealth Kenya

The Indian maestro finished in the runner-up position, breaking his personal best and his own national record in the event.

Avinash denied Kenyans seven straight clean sweeps in the commonwealth becoming the first non-Kenyan to win the commonwealth medal in 3000m SC in the 21st century.

Results: Commonwealth Games Athletics - Men's 3000m Steeplechase.
  1. Abraham Kibiwot    8:11.15 KEN
  2. Avinash Sable        8:11.20 IND
  3. Amos Serem           8:16.83 KEN
  4. John Gay               8:30.26 CAN
  5. Ben Buckingham   8:34.17 AUS
  6. Conseslus Kipruto 8:34.96 KEN 
  7. Edward Trippas     8:37.42 AUS
  8. Zak Seddon           8:46.11 ENG
  9. Jonathan Hopkins  9:06.95 WAL
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram